Automatically install Chat apps to your conversations

What’s changing 

Chat apps will now automatically be added as needed to future conversations after being installed by a user. Previously, a user had to manually install a Chat app into every space, group chat, and direct message. 
For example, the first time a user tries to start a poll with the Poll app, they will be prompted to install the Poll app. After that, when they try to create a Poll in any space, the app will automatically be installed, and users can start voting right away. 
Note that users can only install Chat apps as allowed by their admin. Admins can also choose to install apps for their organization, making apps available by default for some or all users without the need for users to install apps themselves. 

Getting started 

  • Developers: 
    • Developers do not have to make any changes to their Chat app in order to support automatic installs. 
  • Admins: 
    • Admins can choose to admin-install Chat apps for their users, so that the Chat app will automatically be available for end users. 
    • If admins allow users to install all, or a specific list of Chat apps, from the Workspace Marketplace, end users can browse the Marketplace to discover and find Chat apps to install and automatically be added to conversations. 
    • To prevent Chat apps from automatically being added to conversations, admins can either prevent users from installing the specific Chat app or restrict who can install apps in specific spaces. 
    • Visit the Help Center to learn more about Getting started as a Marketplace app admin. 
  • End users: 

Rollout pace 

Availability 

  • Chat apps are available to all Google Workspace customers, Workspace Individual Subscribers, and users with personal Google accounts. 
  • Developing Chat apps is available to all Google Workspace customers. 

Resources 

Seamlessly join Google Meet conferences from any calendar app

What’s changing 

With this launch, the Google Meet link will be added to the location field when a Google Calendar user invites a user of a different calendar app (such as Microsoft Outlook) to a meeting with Google Meet. This helps users of other calendar services such as Outlook to easily find the Meet link when it's time to join by ensuring it doesn't get lost in the event details. 

Additionally, Google Calendar now automatically detects Google Meet links in the description or location fields of invitations sent from other calendar apps. This makes it easier for users to join meetings and collaborate with people on different platforms. 

Getting started 

  • Admins: There is no admin control for this feature. 
  • End users: This feature will be on by default. No action is required, the improved meeting link visibility will happen automatically for new invites. Use our Help Center to learn more about how to invite people to your Calendar event. 

Rollout pace 


Availability 

  • Available to all Google Workspace customers, Workspace Individual Subscribers, and users with personal Google accounts 

Resources 

Enhancing meeting privacy for copied Calendar events

What’s changing 

When users copy or duplicate events in Calendar, the Meet conference won’t be copied over. This ensures that Meet access and meeting notes remain tied to the original event and its attendees. If the user intends to participate in the same Meet conference, they can copy over the Meet code separately. 


UI mock showing the journey of duplicating an event and adding a specific Meet conference code 

Why this is important 

This change enhances meeting privacy, security and reliability by keeping the meeting code unique to the original event. This isolates each meeting, ensuring only invited guests can join and that artifacts like recordings and notes are shared exclusively to the correct participants. It reduces the current system ambiguity where a single code shared across multiple events can lead to misdirected information. 

Getting started

  • Admins: There is no admin control for this feature.
  • End users: This change will take effect automatically for users. There is no end user setting for this feature.

Rollout pace 


Availability 

  • This update impacts all Google Workspace customers as well as users with personal Google accounts 

Resources